♪ I Do It My Weigh ♫

Taking control over high days, holidays and all days in between

Which came first, the chicken or the egg?

All my life, I’ve been depressed and overweight. Now the question is: Am I overweight because of depression, or depressed because of being overweight? And don’t think I’m trying to put the blame on something or somebody else. I take responsibility for being overweight. I love food and I hate exercise. I’m guilty, so sue me. However, I cannot for one moment think that I should take all the blame. Just so you know, I’ve shown symptoms of depression before my fifth birthday – before I had a weight problem.

I have recently read a lot about medical reasons for obesity, and some of them are Hypothyroidism, Cushing’s syndrome and Depression. My first step is to have the following tested: my thyroid, my cortisol levels, leptin levels, insulin levels and perhaps switch over to another type of antidepressant. Once I have the results of that, I will have to think of a diet plan and an exercise plan. (I’m saying this with a lot of reluctance.) Did I mention that I hate exercising?

Oh well, wish me luck!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Which came first, the chicken or the egg?

  1. Depression do make those fat cells cling to our bodies indeed. Anti-depressants does that as well…or at least some. I’ve always been skinny but when menopause struck, it was downhill all the way. I do swim a lot but sometimes the Fibro gets in the way and sometimes it helps for the Fibro … whatever. Some days I just don’t care and some days I do. I have no idea what your age is but I would say check for insulin resistance and all those other things as well. I’ve also had depression every since I can remember but no anti-depressants help, except Amitriptyline – but it messes around with my insulin levels and gives me an appetite.

    Wishing you all of the best. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

